Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Common Cabbage White

I think this may be the first butterfly I've blipped from our yard this year.  It's been a cool, wet spring and butterflies all over our area have been scarce.  This species, the Cabbage White, is non-native to the US (as well as New Zealand and Australia) but is not considered a threat to native species as it has different host plants.  Farmers dislike them because their larvae can wreak havoc on cabbage and other mustard crops.  Photographers often curse them because they tend to be flighty.  Once they've landed, however, they are a delight to photograph, especially in shaded conditions where the white down't blow out.  But I digress.

A busy day as I had some errands this morning, a workout at the gym, followed by lunch with a friend and more errands.  I happened to have my camera with me (as one does) when I was on errands and managed to veer casually pull off the road and photograph some young Ground Hogs as they scampered about a big field.  Cute little buggers.  You can see two of them HERE on Flickr.

And in Big News, the bluebird babies are hatching today!  I had them on my calendar for the weekend, so they are just about on schedule.  I peeked quickly in the box around 4:30 after I'd seen both parents coming in with tiny insects.  Four eggs have hatched and the fifth is pipping.  See Extra for a crappy cell phone shot.  

Tomorrow I am getting together with bestie, Ellen, for lunch and pedicures - a luxurious treat!

Thanks for the love on yesterday's inquisitive young woodpecker.  Still hoping for a feeding shot with one of the parents...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.