My Silly Saturday

All that I wanted to do was exchange a couple of double booked tickets for ‘Blithe Spirit’ and get an extra one so that I could take my daughter and granddaughter to see  ‘Julius Caesar’.
 
I phoned up the ‘Shakespeare at Tolethorpe’ box office, so I thought, and found out that all that I had to do was take the unwanted tickets into the box office and for an extortionate fee of £1 the exchange could be made.
 
Act 1 – I turned up at Tolethorpe Hall and was directed to the ticket collection tent which doubled as the box office.  I was told that the actual box office was at the ‘Stamford Arts Centre’!!  I wish someone had told me that before . . .
 
Act 2 – After making sure that I was heading for the correct place I made my way to Stamford, TomTom taking me by the back roads.  You learn something new every day, and this is two new things . . .
 
Now anyone that knows Stamford, especially on a Saturday, will appreciate why I spent the next half hour trying to park the car – and I consider myself lucky to find a space!  I didn’t have to walk far.  The third new thing that I learnt was Stamford was having a parade today and hence some road closures which did NOT help . . .
 
Act 3 – I finally found the correct Box Office.  The exchange was relatively painless, and here are the new tickets.  All that I had to do then was escape Stamford before the parade started.  I wonder what the parade was . . . ??
 
 
Thanks to Admirer for hosting Silly Saturday.
 
 
 
Ps:  This was nearly a blip of the River Welland at Stamford on the east side of the bridge, but I couldn’t find anywhere to put my chips down so that I could take the shot – silly I know . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.