Burton Mere Wetlands

This morning to Burton Mere. The RSPB have done a fantastic job in creating lots of good habitat from what was previously waterlogged farmland. It's a lovely place with a lot of variety, and some great views over the salt marshes of the Dee Estuary to the nearby Welsh hills. This season they've breeding little, great and cattle egrets, as well as spoonbill and bearded tit. Avocets a plenty, and lots more.

The blip is a group of black tailed godwits. The adults turn a lovely russet colour in Spring. No close ups - I don't have that kind of lens. But I quite like birds seen in  their context.

The extra is Fiddlers Ferry Power station, the last coal fired power station in the north west of England. Its closure has recently been announced.

I am going to have a go at a bit of a photo project, taking pics of Fiddlers Ferry from different places. It is a landmark in my part of the world, so it's worth recording whilst it is still here. And it is retiring around the time I will be, so I feel an odd affinity with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.