Fairy Houses

Our Fairy House activity was another wonderful success today. Thirty nine little ones constructed fairy Houses from our collected materials while we were open for business, 10-1. Well, I should say it was a sweet success until just after 1PM, (we stayed open some extra minutes for some late arrivals) when the skies suddenly got dark and the rain fell softly at first and then in torrents. Emily and I, clad in our Fairy Wings, hustled our supplies and tables into the Stetson House barn where we took shelter for about a half an hour. 

This year for the first time, we shared the lawn between the libray and the Stetson House with a group of 4H youngsters who had pens of chickens, rabbits and goats for children to pet and observe. We were not really happy with their location on the lawn, they took up a lot of space we usually need and it was not where we had been assured that they would be. But, what can you do, they had set up the night before. Things went smoothly until the rain stopped and we walked out of the barn. As I rounded the corner I saw 4 kids, 11-13 year olds, kicking and destroying fairy houses that had been built around a tree, including the one in my photograph. As you know, I'm a retired teacher, and so is Emily and we immediately became un-retired, if that is a word. I called out to them and they stopped and looked sullen as I approached. I said I hoped that they were not doing what I thought they were doing. Long story short, they were and said they had  just taken down the fairy houses to build a big one in a Kousa Dogwood tree. I was simply flabbergasted, irate and enraged. I was incredulous, but managed to remain calm enough to explain that they were not theirs to touch and on an on. After I finished, Emily had her own conversation with them. There was a leader, he did finally have them apologize, the boys couldn't look me in the eyes while mumbling and the one girl did croak out a sorry and cried. I was so mad I was close to tears myself. 

To add insult to injury it began raining again after I had  brought the stuff out of the barn, so in it went again. When T came to fetch me it was hailing! I'm exhausted, Emily wrote a stern note to the Historical Society Director regarding inviting the 4H group next year and I'm just exhausted from feeling so mad and sad.

We did make many kiddos happy and hopefully they didn't come back to see their houses before heading home. Their parents might just chalk  up the destruction to the rain, wind and hail, but that would be a stretch.

For the Record,
This day came in with brilliant sun after a rainy week, but the afternoon showers and hail were not welcomed at Hanover Day.

One hand exhausted and still mad as a wet hen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.