Antique Saturday

I'm 66 years old. I played softball until about age 54, and then I started pulling hamstrings...so I retired. I made a brief comeback at age 60 in a 60 and over league, but I didn't make it through one practice without pulling the hamstring again. So, I re-retired.

But, Merrick called me today, and him and my SIL Doug were going to a local field to practice. I dusted off my old Dudley (the Black Beauty I used to call her), and joined them on the field.

I didn't feel any of the old magic, but it felt good to have the Black Beauty on my hand again. And, if that wasn't enough...Merrick talked me into riding our bikes to our local park...where 7 people showed up to play volleyball. 7 people...they had 7 people! Should I dare ask to play?

I watched for 5 minutes to assess their skill level, and yes...I asked to play. I more than held my own, and in fact...I might have even taught my 3 teammates a thing or two about the game.You see...volleyball was meant to have 3 hits on each side, and these 7 people wanted to hit it back over on the first hit. Bump, set, spike...that's how it's supposed to work. SET THE BALL! SET THE BALL! My 3 guys followed my lead, and started to set it.

I hope after my busy afternoon and evening...that I'm able to get out of bed in the morning. :0)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.