Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Birdling's Flat revisited

An early-ish start this morning meant a great opportunity to head down to the Birdlings Flat transfer station at Poranui to get rid of the telltale signs of Christmas excess (mainly sparkling wine empties, used wrapping etc) as well a a general rubbish run. Not having a kerbside collection (perhaps because we have no kerbs?) we have to do it ourselves as it were, taking it down to Terry and the compactor each saturday.

On my way back, inspired by karenjulia's blip yesterday, I thought I'd stop by the beach just for a bit of sea air and to see what the surf was like.

Surprisingly, it was very calm, well for Birdlings that is. In a Southerly the seas are monstrous, and it's even big when it's blowing offshore also. Today however, with the tide receding and not much wind from any direction, it was not quite so dramatic,

Walking down towards the cliffs I found this piece of driftwood which someone had turned into an impromptu bench seat next to a small campfire.

For followers of my blips I have an update on the chicks. All are doing well and have already got up quite an appetite. As my usual feed supplier is away until next week I'm coming up with chick-starter substitutes. It would seems that three day old crumbed Vogel's Ancient Grains suits their palate. At this rate they could be very expensive chooks....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.