POG's Journal

By POG

Tick Tock…

Hi Everyone,


Tomorrow I’m driving up to Nottingham in readiness into a one-day introduction course into watchmaking which is being hosted by the British Horological Institute on Wednesday.


I am not sure what to expect from the day… I expect an element of it will be a sale pitch to further training, but you can’t blame them if they do that.


If you have a few minutes spare and is interesting in watches, reading about George Daniels is very interesting. George could make every component part of the watch (so I believe), which is quite amazing…  Also, the story of George and Roger Smith is good.


For those of you who like numbers George created the Space Traveller’s  Watch, which sold at Sotherby’s for £ 3,196,250.
 
I would add at this moment that I have no thoughts of becoming a George Daniels or Roger Smith I just like that in a world where so many people seem to accept near enough is good enough that you can’t adopt that ethos with watchmaking as it would result in the watch or clock not keeping good time.
 
More tomorrow


POG,,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.