POG's Journal

By POG

Everything is so small…

Hi Everyone,

Just got home from by day with the British Horological Institute…

It was a really nice day I had there… No hard sell on any other courses… small group of just 6 and would you believe it someone else from Portsmouth… so two of us driving the 200 miles for the day from the same town.

Anyway, we learnt a bit of history about watches and the various movements, had a go at disassembling some components and reassembling… It really is practice make perfect as everything is so small and bits were popping off and disappearing and people crawling on the floor trying to find little clips about the half the size of an ant. It really was fun.

The food in the restaurant was very nice at lunchtime and all the staff we met were very welcoming.

It was interesting to learn that many of the big watch making companies only supply spare parts to people who have done training with them and have specific equipment which can cost around 60k.

They also have a museum with lots of stuff although I would say unless you were a complete enthusiast, I would not recommend driving a long way to see it. There were two fabulous clock I would love to own… strangely they were both made in the last 20 years.

The instructor was more of an eccentric type, very pleasant and funny, there was not to much structure to the day but that was okay as we were asked what we were interested in learning / doing and that’s what we did.

I had a very nice day indeed.

Also, my 3-year-old car, which has 80k on the clock still returned 63.5 MPG even with some lapses into boy racer mode by myself… The poor old thing has it’s first MOT tomorrow so finger crossed.

More tomorrow

POG,,

Ps. The photo is of my automatic watch winders that keep my self-winding watches going when I’m not wearing them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.