After The Gold Rush

I dropped Mrs madwill off at her workshop in Oswaldtwistle Mills this morning - and then had a quick wander around the retail area - hmmm, not for me! A black swan and chick came to check me out for food as I was passing the lake.

I then walked into Accrington town centre, took about 20 minutes. I had a wander around the town centre, stopping briefly for a coffee. The town looks to be a shadow of its former self - so many empty shops and business units. It looks rather dreary.  The Town Hall  and Market Hall  give some idea of its former grandeur.

The name on this derelict amusement arcade made me smile - sort of sums up the feel of the town. I don’t think this is unique in the UK - I have seen many other towns in similar states.

I spent a few hours walking around and went out along a cycle route (along the route of an old railway line). Spotted a newt and a moorhen chick, as well as a mossy tree, a river valley  a large cog wheel  and a broken car .

Over 20K steps managed today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.