Plus ça change...

By SooB

Eleanor Rigby

The scene reminded me of the song, though I know that was rice rather than confetti. I was feeling particularly Eleanor Rigbyish as I'd just come out of the cinema having seen a movie on my own. Great movie (Slumdog) and great cimema (Dominion, Edinburgh).

I hadn't been to the movies on my own for ages, and I'd forgotten the joy of getting all the Revels to myself. Normally I would buy some sweeties and Mr B would choose popcorn, which used to be fine back in the days when Revels were booby trapped with the peanut ones - being allergic, Mr B couldn't risk getting one of those by mistake in the dark. But when they did away with the peanuts he would just help himself to half my sweets. Anyway, today I had them all to myself. I could even have had a glass of champagne (very civilised cinema this) but that seemed a bit sad all on my own.

This is taken with my phone - first day for ages I've gone out without my camera. I took the opportunity of not tramping about getting muddy with the kids to 'dress up' (wear a skirt) and the great hulking camera bag I normally drag about everywhere with me doesn't quite go with that look.

Think I may have spotted a blipper today in Clarks shoes - but overwhelming shyness overtook me and I couldn't bring myself to ask. Anyway, it was the kid I thought I recognised and it doesn't seem right to be asking a stranger if theirs is the kid you've seen on the internet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.