"A Spirit That Calls Our Hearts to Dream"

"His is a power enhanced by pride, a courage heightened by challenge.
His is a swiftness intensified by strength, a majesty magnifed by grace.
His is a timeless beauty touched with gentleness, a spirit that calls our hearts to dream."


~ Author Unknown ~


I've been attending the Royal Highland Show since my student days; a loooong time!
Every year, I enjoy it immensely and every year I find something different or new.
I am not a horsey person.
I think horses are incredible animals and I love watching them and photographing them. As a child/teenager, I loved to draw them. They are physically beautiful and have an essence of power and grace.
As a vet, I was never keen on them as patients. I didn't grow up around horses and despite apparently having a good way with them, I never felt totally confident around them. I met some really bad-tempered ones during my years in large animal practice.

I always love watching the Heavy Horses at the RHS, particularly the teams pulling the dray. I missed them this year but had the absolute pleasure of watching a special display of Clydesdale Horses in the main arena.

I was standing sandwiched between two old worthies from "Norn Irn". When the first horses passed, all 3 of us fell silent. The older gentleman to the left of me quietly whispered "this is an incredible display of horses". 
He sounded very emotional.

So was I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.