25062019

Have I got a story for you today. Fasten your seat belts!

Today (after 2 years living here plus some odd days) we were finally switched to the county water from the construction water. For this we had the two mornings filled with bureaucracy.

They come at 9 and put the water meters in place. All going smoothly for all except for us. Everyone else has water in good pressure but us.

My husband tells that to the guys working and putting in the meters. They come take a look and can't fix it. They tell us to go to the Masa (builder) office and to call the water company.

I walk to the office and husband calls the company.

At the office I tell them that next door to us they have water, but we don't. They call someone and they say that the work in still in progress. They ask me to come back in an hour if we still haven't got water. At the same time husband calls the water company and makes the complaint about the situation. (They have an English speaking line which is very nice.)

After an hour no water and I walk back to the office. Again they call someone and also make the complaint. But at the same time they say it's not their problem. (Great, thanks!)

1:30 and still no water. Husband receives a call from the water company in Spanish and they say we should have water. Again he tells that no we don't. They have hard time believing him. Then they say that it's Masa's fault (the builder). Then they say we should order a plumber ourselves. My husband tells them that we got water this morning (we've had for 2 years) but after we got the water meter it stopped. They finally believe him and say that they'll contact Masa.

2:30 the same guy who in the morning told us to go to Masa office comes by, does something in 2 minutes, and voilà we have water! So if he'd only checked his work at 9:30 we wouldn't have had to stress, argue, plea, visit and call all around to get the water during a heat wave. It's terrible when you don't have running water and it's over 30°C in the sun where you walk back and forth trying to convince someone to check on something that you need. No one has apologized.

It's so Spanish. It's never anyone else's fault but customers. No one ever has said I'm sorry and I'll try to help you. Always they blame someone else. I don't understand.

But for 5+ hours we didn't have water and did all we could to get help. If this was isolated incident I'd understand, but as it's more a pattern I'm starting to lose my shit.

Best moment of the day was my early evening swim. Water was nice and refreshing 21°C after a hot and sweaty day.

I did manage to do some sewing at some point. I made one skirt and 2 tops. I don't understand how that happened. Also talked with the Welsh ladies who are back for a week. Had a long chat with Jennifer and helped David figure out in which hospital he has his examination tomorrow. They had printed 3 pages for him about his appointment, but none of them included the right address and as the hospital is in 4 or 5 buildings which are not all on the same street, he was wondering where he should go.

I think I've deserved some ice cream right about now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.