Goodbye and exit

Last day of school for teachers. Hurrah. A long, last and often uncomfortable day of back to back meetings, in super humid hot heat, of which the most important one, for me, was when the department said a goodbye to Erin, art and photo teaching colleague of seven years, who has a new job next year, teaching in Erzrum, Western Anatolia.  Amongst other gifts, we gave her this lens ball, and so I thank her for providing this group shot as my blipfoto today.  Always sad and happy to say farewell to neighbour colleague friends who are moving on to new adventures, but then, it's rarely goodbye as our school's extended family reaches far and wide, but, as the song goes, you can check out but you can never .....  

Quick exit out of Istanbul after the last full faculty meeting to Sabiha Gokcen airport (thanks Koray for the lift) along with Erin and Ethan who fly to their new home,  me to Bodrum airport, so that I am now, a few hours later, writing this from my summer place in Akbuk where I'll do as little as possible for four days. 

Back to Istanbul at the weekend, as is Erin, so I'll see you on Sunday....


Istanbul weather watch: incessant sun @ 32ºC 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.