If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Cranesbill.

Kanyl had an appointment in Carlisle so we acted as chauffeur and went up with him.   By the time he had finished it was approaching lunch time, off to one of the garden centres for their brilliant chicken and leek pie and a wander round.  This Bumblebee very obligingly posed.

I think the bee is a worker white tailed bumble bee (Bombus leucorum).  As always if I am wrong tell me and preferably how you know what it is.  Like an idiot I was concentrating on getting a bee on the flower rather than what the flower was.  I can tell you it is a Cranesbill which is a member of the geranium family.  Clearly it is a cultivar rather than the Meadow Cranesbill (Geranium pratense), however it is very similar so I suspect it is a cultivar from that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.