If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Limousin Bull.

We needed to collect some things from a friends house, so as we were driving along I spotted this big boy.  Those who know me will remember that I spent ¾ of my teaching career teaching Rural Studies or as Kanyl called it piggery and diggery.  It is a sort of combination of rural "growing" industries -agriculture, horticulture, forestry etc.

The school was lucky having a department that could keep pigs, sheep, cattle, poultry and had a couple of large greenhouses (one hot one cold).  As a result and as you might expect I am very fond of agricultural animals.

So I just had to stop and get some shots of this "Limo" bull.  Probably the most common crossing breed locally.  As you can see from the shot they are a very "beefy" breed, ideal for crossing with dairy cattle to provide calves which will grow to provide a good source of meat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.