Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Proof!

At some point in the future - yet to be found, (Found it) I mentioned the fact that I:-
A) Used to have hair at both ends of the swede.
B) Had a rather unusual, UNdyed, colour scheme; wondering if I owe it to my Oirish ancestry.
The timing/date is pure guessimetry in that I know we were in Morocco about "now" but no idea where we were on any given day, OR how close we actually were to Asilah OR how much it has grown in almost 50 yrs.
At almost 30 - just over 28 in fact we were, by a few years, the oldies of the group touring Morocco in converted Bedford trucks and kipping neath the stars.
We had tents but didn't need them - until the one night it did rain "PISSintantly" and we discovered the Couriers, who hadn't been paid for several weeks had flogged most of them off, for a bit of pocket money.
I wonder what happened to Tony Escassany de Estrada & Brian Jones(?) let alone the firm "Safari".
I tended to learn a few words &/or to count wherever we went.
"NO eye deer" of the spelling but I still remember:-
Wahay, Shush Tletta, arba hramsa sitsa  ? ? ~? ~
I beat this old guy down from 30Dirham to 15. He wouldn't/couldn't take travellers' cheques, so we left.
BUT I heard him mutter "Arba" to a young kid.
As we climbed into the truck, my left leg refused to follow - there was a young Arab hanging onto it.
I beat him down to 5 Dirham + 20 fags.
Money changed hands and there we were, me aboard, him, metaphorically, ashore, Slippers held by both of us, 5 dirham held by both in other hand, me scrounging 20 fags from the multitude.
The deal was struck, we both let go the instant the truck started off.
I'll not tell the full, colourful tale of the day we were stoned out of one of the villages because I was decidedly NOT "that way inclined".
Let's just say I can't understand why there are so many unstoned in Morocco on account of which way they lean.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.