madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Performance

I could also titile this "All's well that ends well!"
Soon as the surgery was open I phoned to make an appointment. I was all prepared to be stroppy if I had to wait 3 weeks for a phone consult, but in fact I cried and got a same day slot! Not with the Dr I'd last seen but my old "Friend" who has dealt with me from the begining and diagnosed IBS and anxiety. But it was her or noone so I wasn't going to quibble. She was supposed to call in the next hour - she didn't. Then I realised my mobile had no reception! So i phoned the surgery and was told I was still on the list to be called - Phew! But it looked like Oscar would miss his playdate with Ivy.
Finally she called and I was to pick up a prescription later for 2 lots of antibiotics and a proton inhibitor to stop acid formation. I asked for liquids as I'm not so great swallowing tablets anymore and she said she would see if it was possible. There was no comment from her about the fact that I did indeed have something other than IBS wrong with me! Then it was off for 20 mins with Ivy! As it turned out noone appeared for the next slot so we stayed on another hour!
I went straight to the surgery to get my prescription - only to find it was all tablets. I questioned the woman who brusquely said it was what the Dr had ordered. I wondered if maybe it didn't come at the strength I needed. On getting home and checking the internet I discovered they could! A phonecall to the pharmacy at the surgery and I got what I wanted! But another £27 and the tablets I had could not be returned! I messaged Vegan Jo to ask if she had any use fr them - she said yes! As I waited to go get the prescription I began to doubt the treatement duration. Given my old Dr's insistence on it begining IBS I was not confident! So I checked it online and 10-14 days was generally regarded the most effective! So another phonecall to the surgery!
Again I was told it would be a 3 week wait to speak to the Dr who diagnosed my infection. I tartly responded that as the treatment was only for a week this was not any good and I got a phonecall for later in the afternoon! By this point i considered making a complaint about the Dr - but what good woud it do - the first year I did have anxiety and panic attacks so she would defend her position of diagnosing IBS. 
An hour later I get a call. I explained why I was questioning the other Dr's treatment plan. As regards the prescription he said accidents happen re the prescription of tablets but waived the prescription charge. He said he would check re the treatment length and said not to expect it to be the solution to all my problems! Well that finally pushed me over the edge! I replied that I already felt an incredible difference in my mental well being, which would have occured a lot sooner if only I had been tested earlier for H Pylori!
I messaged Vegan Jo to tell her the outcome and she said the same Dr failed to diagnose her mother who nearly went into renal failure and had a 12 hour operation. A simple blood test would have shown this up. Apparently when she went into hospital for a scan a nurse  told her off for not going to the Dr sooner. She said she had been going for 9 months and the nurse fell silent. I was pleased I had in the end complained about her!
So finally late afternoon off I went to get my new prescription. One of the items was not in stock and I would have to wait till tomorrow! Seriously!!! I will never use the surgerys pharmacy again! There was a letter form the Dr stating that 7 days was the recommended treatment as a longer time ran the risk of getting C. Dfficile which would require more antibiotics! 
Finally come the last walk of the day I got to see this amazing sunset - so the day ended on a beautiful sight and tomorrow my treatment regime will start! It was a long and stressful day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.