The Ego of Madchickenwoman!

Well the temperature is creeping up and it already feels mighty scorching! 
Getting into the stride of doing less - although I did plant some fennel seeds  and potted on all my herbs as they were root bound and wilting each day in the heat due to lack of water! Took me an hour and a half to water the plants on the allotment - the hedgerows are already showing the lack of water, going dry and yellow! I watered plants I wouldn't normally - like my gladioli! Amazing over the years what bunches they turn into!
On arriving home at 10.30 pm  I went straight to my meditation room. On Friday after returning at the same time from doing the hens and the watering I forgot to meditate! Broke my longest streak of 73 consecutive days! I was a bit annoyed, then realised it was a good thing - I'm not doing it  as some sort of competition, takes away the whole point of doing it for calmness! In fact a recent piece of research says peoples' egos  are increased after doing it and yoga! 

U.S. psychologist William James's argument that practicing any skill breeds a sense of self-enhancement (the psychological term for inflated self-regard.)


I must admit I do feel such a sense after doing both of them! Tibetan Buddhist meduitation Master Choggyam Trungpa describes it as "Spiritual Materialism!" I found this in an article about  The 5 Ego traps To Avoid in Meditation!! I must be more mindful about these!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.