Prior Well

Monks Well, St.John’s Well, (Our) Lady Well (View over the Tay)

All of these wells, none of which I actually found, were connected to Balmerino Abbey, which I did find. Bit frustrating but the path of the well hunter never runs smooth and it keeps me out of mischief. Hopefully some points for effort, at least.

I’ll never understand why some wells are recorded and others aren’t...I only realised the others existed when I studied the map more closely. Monk’s Well which is recorded is now deeply lost somewhere amongst the undergrowth. I started to lose confidence when the leaflet at the abbey made no mention of it and then another leaflet showing a local walk also made no reference to it.

https://www.megalithic.co.uk/article.php?sid=15429

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.