St.Fillan’s Well and Monks Well

(grabbing WiFi when I can)
You know you are a dedicated well hunter (okay...a bumbling one) when, after a long day without any way of checking, you finally find somewhere to settle and your niggling doubts are confirmed...you’ve got the wrong well. No settling down to Irish aperos for me, I got on my bike and cycled several miles back down to St.Andrews to find the Well I’d been looking for. I felt very studenty whizzing through the ancient university streets on my bike with graduation celebrations going on all around.

The cathedral ruins had loads of wells (extra). I can’t for the life of me work out why they aren’t listed as holy.
Links below.

The day started with feeling a bit wrecked after yesterday. I headed for Pittenweem to find St.Fillan’s well first (not straight forward... a curious cave stuck down a tucked out of the way alley). I went on to Anstruther to look at the possibility of a trip to the Isle of May. It was all a bit bustling and touristy so I pressed on via Crail to St.Andrews.

https://www.megalithic.co.uk/article.php?sid=8246
https://www.megalithic.co.uk/article.php?sid=15995

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.