recycled energy

By ryanstyle

My Victorian Literature professor
asked everybody in the class
why they signed up for her course.

She went in opposite alphabetical order
so I was nearly last to respond to her question.

Not wanting to be like everybody else by mumbling,
"Oh, it was the only thing that fit in my schedule."
or "I needed the credit hours to graduate."

I sincerely stated,
"I am taking your course because
one of my past lives was in the Victorian Era."

The professor merely nodded her head thoughtfully
and said, "That's great you know about things like that.
Everybody should be more aware of their past lives."
and moved on to the several remaining students.

Later on; I sat down to eat in the vegetarian cafeteria
at my university and was directly faced with this painting.
I think I look [almost] exactly like the man in it.
Not to mention, of course, the painting looks Victorian.

I do not believe in past lives because I believe
we are all unique spirits that come into this plane once.
However, we inherit the memories of our ancestors
which may trigger sensations of past life experiences.
If we endow the physical characteristics
of those who have come before us,
we most certainly have additional features.

We are a lot more connected to each other than you think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.