"I've found a.."

After yesterday's exertions, it was a lovely lanes stroll this morning in the cool air. You just never know when you're going to find something special and for me, this pupa was it today.  I spotted a curled up bug that I thought was a dead caterpillar and hanging above was this beauty.  I've discovered on this video that it strips off its suit as it makes its transformation and it drops away from the newly formed chrysalis. It looks like it might be a peacock butterfly but I'm not entirely sure.

I walked home finding myself repeating, "I found a butterfly pupa." So I think I was pretty excited.  It's the first one I've ever seen in the wild.

I woke up surprisingly early and have been on a roll with shearing, mowing, bike washing and general catching up.

Answer: Well, probable answer:  My oddity the other day gave the game away by crawling in front of the lens.  I've seen one before but not as well dressed as this one.  Try googling "debris carrying lacewing larvae" - there's some great photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.