Gabriel’s Hill, Maidstone

This is Gabriel’s Hill in Maidstone. In the background is the Golden Boot which has been a shoe shop since 1790. There’s also a sign for the Ship Inn, I must have seen it many times but never really taken it in. I can’t find much about the Inn except that it is an early 19th century building in front of a much older structure which was mentioned in John Leyland’s account written in 1538.

On the other hand, I’ve always known about the Golden Boot which is the longest running, family owned and independent shoe shop in the UK, having been established by William Randall in 1790. Not bought a pair of shoes from the Golden Boot in the 43 years I’ve been in Maidstone and I think I could count the number of times I’ve been in there on the fingers of one hand.

To give them their due, the council have made a good fist of improving part of the town centre. It looks smart in the sunshine with the hanging baskets, new paving and street furniture.

We were on our way home after a very uplifting sing at Rock Choir. More weeding and cutting the grass at the allotment. I think that’s the worst of the excesses cleared. Strawberries again for aftershocks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.