Happy Birthday Alan

I had to dash from Preston to the centre of Manchester for my crochet group tonight. It was a bit of an effort and an hour and a half drive to get there - only to hear that the kitchen had closed early! I managed to blag some hummus and bread so I didn't sit there starving whilst not crocheting a single stitch.

On the way from the car park I noticed that Alan Turing's statue was covered in flowers again so I knew it must have been his birthday recently. Every year, Computer Science students and academics pay their respects to the pioneering Mathematician, Computer Scientist and World War II Codebreaker.  

Imagine leaving behind such a legacy!

Quote for today:
We can only see a short distance ahead, but we can see plenty there that needs to be done.
- Alan Turing 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.