Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Lies!


The red-headed granddaughter phoned last night.

"Gramma, do you remember when we went to Portland last summer?"

"Yes."

"Do you remember the name of the bookstore we went to?"

"Yes, it was Powell's."

"Remember the book you bought . . . the one about history . . . remember it was the one about teachers not teaching it right. You told me I could borrow it from you."

"Well, I vaguely remember. What is the name of the book?"


So, after a few minutes she explained the book so well that I did remember. I couldn't find it though. So I told her I'd continue to look after we got off the phone. She proceeded to tell me that she is in this truly interesting evening history class at the campus. She said the instructor is an attorney by day and a history teacher by night. That he had been discussing the reality that so many high school students hate history because it is always one of the "boringest" subjects.

She said his class is fabulously interesting and he has given them the green-light to do some extra credit reading. She thought this book would be worthwhile.

She is so excited about school. Soon she'll have her AA degree. After our call ended, I found the book. So I thought I'd make this a permanent memory. I do recall most of my college history classes as "snoozers," and I always wondered why. When I travel I love history. At one point several years ago, I took the eight month course to be a docent at the Mission Inn in downtown Riverside. The class was fascinating history.

Mr. Fun expressed extreme concern this morning when he saw yesterday's blip. Said I told a lie. Oops! I wrote that the RCC Quad had been built in 1916. Actually that is the year the college was founded. He said if someone looked carefully at my blip, they could see that. So we had a lengthy conversation this morning about the Quad.

Once when he and I were both students in Dr. Ron Yoshino's California history class at the Riverside campus, Yoshino explained that the Quad was not built all at once but in sections; however, Mr. Fun nor Rosie can remember the facts so that part of the story will be told on another day when I show you some of the other architectural gems of the Quad. So now I've confessed my lie. I'm sorry I didn't mean to fib.

Well for the last time this February, I'll say good night from Southern California where the temps are summer warm and the sky has been beautifully blue all day with a gentle breeze that caressed everything in its path.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.