SILLY SATURDAY - NEWS FROM GREGORY GREAT TIT

"Hello Blippers - Gregory Great Tit here,

That Mrs. HCB has been at it again - my Mum and Dad are trying to encourage me and my brothers and sisters to move out of Oak House and start fending for ourselves - when up “she” pops with her camera and tries to take photographs of us leaving.  Why would anyone do that?

Anyway, we shall be leaving soon, but I notice she has now gone indoors, so perhaps we could sneak out without her knowing - the trouble is that once we have left, Mum and Dad won’t let us go back in again!  

The good thing is that it’s a beautiful sunny day, so hopefully there will be plenty of food around for Mum and Dad to bring to us, just until we get used to feeding ourselves.  It’s not easy being a baby Great Tit, out in the big, bad world, especially with all those Magpies around.

Mum and Dad have told us what it’s like to fly but it all sounds rather scary, so we will probably be “teetering on the brink” of Oak House for a little while.  It’s one thing being told how to do something, but quite another actually doing it for yourself, with no safety net underneath you!

Only yesterday, my Mum asked me if I was ready to fly - I said I wasn’t sure, but she said she and Dad would be there to help me and the rest of us, but that I needed to actually fly by myself.  That’s a big “ask”! 

Having said that, I wonder if I will get my 15 minutes of fame on her Blipping thing that she does every day - I do hope so.  I’m a bit upset that she is doing this on Silly Saturday, but I guess beggars can’t be choosers, as they say, so we will just have to run with it - or should I say fly with it?"

“Education is unfolding the wings 
     of head and heart together. 
The job of a teacher (or parent) 
     is to push the students out of the nest 
          to strengthen their wings.” 
Amit Ray, Walking the Path of Compassion

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.