Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Red campion - and goosanders galore!

As you can see, red campion is pink rather than red. The word "pink" used as a colour dates back to the early 18th century, and I expect that the flower got its name before  that. We saw lots of this down by the river, along with vast quantities of comfrey.

I was intrigued by a family of ten young goosanders who were being taught to fish by their mother beside the river bank in very shallow water. They swam on the surface with their necks stretched out, face downwards in the water to see the fish and they then grabbed fish in their beaks, so there was a lot of splashing about. The goosanders themselves looked a bit like fish with their silvery grey bodies. I've got three extra photos of them which are awful (I needed a longer lens again), but they will remind me about this scene.

I was delighted to see a kingfisher several times in its trips for fish which I guess was going back to a nest. I took some truly awful pictures of a blur that you could probably tell was a kingfisher from the colours but that was about all. I haven't included any of those pics!

Earlier T and I had a lovely pub lunch outisde at the Collingwood Arms in Cornhill upon Tweed - it was a glorious day and being outside was what we wanted to do all day.

I'venow added an extra photo of the house - a better picture than my blip for 22nd June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.