Petit Minou

Our landlady does do magnificent breakfasts. We never know what will be served up as the piece de resistance. Strawberry soup with mint, baked peach with custard, home made choc-chip cookies plus of course the usual cereals, croissants etc. 

Once again it was a bit foggy and chilly. We drove a little to the east and stopped for coffee at a little cafe at Tregana (another name very reminiscent of Cornwall). It's very much like Cornwall without the crowds. The sun started to peep out and we carried on up the coast to Petit Minou. It's a beautiful little sandy bay with a lighthouse just round the corner. You can see the view from the beach in my album of shots from the trip here. I left Marian on the beach and went up the coastal path where I found the 1848 lighthouse and a fort built in 1697. I'm not sure what the 2nd tower is, I can't find any explanation of it. All the entries I've seen seem to refuse to acknowledge it's presence. I suspect it's a German wartime addition from it's design but it's hard to be sure. There are other German defences here as you can see from my extra.

Even when the sun was out it wasn't particularly warm. It does seem odd that when the rest of the country is a canicule (heatwave to you) we are shivering in 16 degrees. If I have to choose I'd rather have the 16 to the 40 degrees but I'd just like it a little bit warmer.

Edit: I have just found a further reference to the second tower: At the front of the latter, it is also possible to admire a white tower that was once used as a tower of the semaphore of the Navy, before it was moved to the tip of Portzic in 1984 (Google translation)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.