MikeWest

By MikeWest

Funneling

Left it too late! I wrongly assumed it would brighten up in the evening as it has in previous days. Instead it rained. I kept to the trees and became involved with hosta leaves, playing with the positive/negative shapes they formed.

The wet areas, rain drops and reflections give the leaves dimension and, given the abstract nature of the image, I wonder now whether they would suit a flatter treatment. I shall have to try another day.

However, what struck me was the way the leaves curve into the stem and funnel water down towards the plant's base. Maybe that accounts for their success?  I liked the contrasting dead brown leaf trapped in the centre of the lower hosta leaf which adds a nice contrast against all the greens. It's also quite oddly placed slightly off centre and low in the frame. Maybe not everything should be balanced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.