MikeWest

By MikeWest

Mask Of Diffusion

I took advantage of the sunny evening to experiment shooting through patches of foliage in sunlight to slightly obscure my intended subject.

Inspired by the work of Nicki Gwynn-Jones whose light and airy photographs of wild flowers on Orkney have been popping up in my Instagram feed. Although I can't claim originality or as to whether my photo stands comparison, I am finding I often cite "you have to start somewhere".

I could see these might be taken for multi-exposure shots, but not so.

I like how some parts are sharp, others muted, diffused or partially obscured. I like the overall harmony this approach achieves, the soft focus leaves creating shadowy shapes of light and dark, framing the delicate daisies. White petals contrast nicely against the dark green background.

I think the image looks particularly nice on black.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.