CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Green Woodpecker landing in a maple tree, Frampton

I headed south to Dorset to visit my friend Patrick and stopped off near his local. river, another Frome, to catch my breath. I saw a couple of green woodpeckers which I startled and they flew away. I stood on the elegant little stone bridge, which was reportedly designed by Sir Christopher Wren, on the main drive to the local 'big house' that has sadly been demolished some time ago. Now the bridge over the Frome lies amongst pretty wooded parkland and meadows.

A short while later I noticed a bird flying towards a tall old maple tree and swung my camera round to snap a few distant pictures. At the time I thought it might have been a green woodpecker, which I've been trying to photograph for a long time.

Seeing it appear on my computer I was pleased to find it was a green woodpecker as it made its final approach to land, although it is not very clear. But nevertheless I rather like these impressionistic qualities which affect the whole frame. I often hear that my pictures look like paintings, which usually makes me disappointed, but not this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.