The cliffs at Hive Beach, near Bridport, Dorset

It was raining when I woke early this morning, so I rolled over and went back to sleep. I'd told Patrick I might go to the river and take pictures, and when I woke again that is what I did at about 8-30am. It was only a short way but with my rather dodgy hip I decided not to walk.

I spotted a kingfisher at both of the bridges over the River Frome that I visited but they were distant and fleeting glimpses. The light rain stopped and the cloud cover lifted somewhat, and I enjoyed just being in the queit of the Dorsewt countryside.

When I returned at about 11am, Patrick cooked me a hearty breakfast with delicious eggs from his sister's chickens. We'd contemplated a trip to the coast and since it wasn't actually raining we decided to head down to Hive Beach which has a cafe and a car park beside the sea.

We actually took a thermos and sat near the water's edge watching and listening to the waves rolling around the small pebbles at what is the western end of Chesil Beach. The cafe is sited at the beginning of these beautiful cliffs which form the beginning of the famous Jurassic coastline. About a mile further west is West Bay at the mouth of a river, where lies the current 'port' of Bridport, which is now two miles from the sea. After a while the holes began to appear between the clouds giving interesting light patterns along the beach and upon the cliffs.

These cliffs became well known as the setting of the tv detective series Broadchurch a few years ago. I always like being there and once blipped this view from the far end of the cliffs at West Bay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.