Border Tails

By Swannie

Even Percy Thrower had to start somewhere!

Just recently, I decided that I’d like to try growing things in the garden. This week, I went out with my birthday and Christmas money and bought myself two half whisky barrels. Under instruction from the Head-gardeners, Mum and Jim, they have now been filled. Jim brought me a whole load of annuals for one of them, on the left of the picture.

In the other one, I have planted some garden peas, I really wanted to grow something I could eat, and a visit to the garden centre showed me that it is a bit late in the year for most veg, but the pea variety I found can be sown into July.

There is nothing to be seen in the veg barrel, so I’ve included my wee neglected Eunonymus japonicus, which has sat at the front door for years. I’ve moved it round the back so that I can hopefully remember to water it in the future. There are a couple of poppies in beside it that have seeded themselves and I managed to dissuade Mum from pulling them out as weeds. And the meerkat? He just sits in the corner!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.