Kipsie

By Kipsie

Maybe ..... maybe not

My homemade mixed bean, seed & sweet potato burger looked a bit lost & silly on the barbie so I griddled it instead. I would'nt know how to get this all singing all dancing barbecue to work anyway. I had to phone a friend yesterday as I could'nt work out how to change the setting on the Nespresso machine here where I'm looking after Yogi. I'm really NOT into technology. I'm old school. Like my cider preferences. The Annings fruit (pink grapefruit & pineapple) cider was very refreshing but a bit "girlie". I like proper cider, that tastes of apples. I have found the cutlery holder in the dishwasher though, purely by accident. It's a very shallow shelf at the top. One less challenge for me. I've still to use the oven, but there again do I need to use it. Well I was going to make a rhubarb & custard cake, a recipe sent to me from a friend on-line, & I pulled some rhubarb from my allotment, but now I've picked strawberries I'm thinking strawberry & rhubarb jam. Will clean the strawberries and pop them in the freezer while I make my mind up.
Today Yogi & I went for an early explore around Parke, before heading to G&J's to do some much needed gardening. I felt so guilty for not going, anyway I buttered Jean up with some strawberries plus bought a pot of cream to go with them. I also bought a newspaper but I think I pulled away from the carpark with it on the roof of my car. I did'nt have it when I got to Chudders later much to hubby's annoyance. Hey ho!!!! So back to B.T & G&J's... well they live on one of these park home sites, where they have a yearly 'Best Garden' competition, clever really, coz it makes everyone, well nearly everyone, try to be better than their neighbour, which works, it's all very competitive. Well, G&J have got new neighbours who have got rid of most of a Leylandii hedge separating their properties, & they're not happy. They've planted good sized laurel which will make a far better hedge as the Leylandii was really scruffy and bare in places so me being of the glass half full brigade suggested that when the laurel had reached a decent height they could chop down the remaining Leylandii. Not sure he was convinced, but George has had a tumble since I was last there so not up to discussing much today. Spent 4 hours gardening, weeding and staking. They've got a lovely garden with some really interesting herbaceous perennials. Jeans the gardener, George the handyman who uses excessive lengths of green gardening wire for everything. I much prefer string anyway we could'nt find any this morning. They're not competitive fortunately so no pressure on me. We always have something to chat about while I'm gardening, today it was about the pub trade, his grandfather was a publican, & I was brought up in a pub. That done, I headed home to see what hubby was up to ... not much. He went and fetched a paper while I made lunch. His idea of watering & mine are rather different, & he's not a gardener so even if a wilting plant hit him in the face it would'nt occur to him that perhaps is was drying out. 10 watering cans later, the garden at home was sorted, next stop the allotment. More watering required, but it is looking good even if I say so myself. They should'nt need watering for another couple of days. I thought we would probably hit a lot of traffic when we joined the A380 heading back but it was very quiet, a pleasant surprise, no queues heading into Teignmouth either. What did we do then ... ball retrieving time. Yogi had been very good all morning, so it was only fair. The trouble is he does'nt want to stop. An early glass of cider, Magners today, well it was 4ish & a home pedicure. I fancied a change of nail polish, well my holiday paint job was looking tatty, I settled for magenta. My favourite colour. I then went to find a plant pot for a beautiful chestnut seedling I pulled out from one of the flower troughs I did yesterday at the DPHT Well I found two pots, checked the strawberry bed & ended up using both pots for more ripe fruit, so I still have'nt potted up the seedling. Must do that tomorrow morning, after Yogi & I have an explore if the weather is similar to this morning. DPHT open day tomorrow, only 2pm - 4pm, but I've volunteered, so time to check for jam recipes and chill a bit hopefully. Winds changed direction I noticed this evening, coming off the moor.
Cut a small iceberg type lettuce from the walled garden to have with dinner. Had to evict 2 snails, a slug, plus poo so they'll be homeless tonight.I love making veggie burgers, so many  combinations you can add to make them a little different. Mine looked much happier sat on a griddled brioche bun with humus, avo, homemade potato salad & garden salad then on the barbecue.
It's that time again .... time for some shuteye. 
Thanks to admirer for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.