Kipsie

By Kipsie

Like a bridge over muddy waters

ok, so it's not a bridge, it's a derelict/disused boat landing on the river Teign estuary. I can only think that it would be for access to Netherton Manor which I believe is in the woods behind. Not been used for a while but worthy of a blip photo I thought. Yogi & I had a two and a bit hour mooch along the shoreline this morning as the tide was going out. Found some pretty little coastal plants on the bank of the estuary, plus samphire :), I had cold samphire on my meze plate in Turkey so that might just make an appearance on my Devon meze plate. Sadly more litter, but not as much as my first sweep so I was very happy. I met a fellow beach/estuary cleaner. We had a bit of a chat about the rubbish found along the banks, & I meant to ask him if he'd seen the abandoned shopping trolley that I added as a derelict blip a few weeks back as it has miraculously disappeared. Someone must have removed it, I'm sure it would'nt have budged on the tide. Back to Teignharvey, got my DPHT shirt on & off to B.T for 2 hours. Quite a few visitors waiting at the gate at 1.45pm so that was promising. The two hours went quite quickly answering visitors questions, keeping the public from getting their toes stepped on. A successful opportunity to inform the public about the Dartmoor pony and why we need to secure it's future on the moor. Coming towards me on the other side of the road as I was heading towards Teignmouth were quite a few custom & vintage cars, all clean & shiny. Obviously an event somewhere in the area. Which reminds me, I was just resting for a minute or two, enjoying the tranquility of the river Teign at low tide sat on a bench in Hearn field when I spotted a steam train & carriages in a cream & wine livery heading towards Newton Abbot. To far for me to get a decent pic. I thought to myself, I wonder what time it will be heading back, as I would have liked to get a closer shot or two. I know photographers go along the sea wall at Teignmouth as there is excellent visibility of the track.. Totally forgot until this evening when I was on the phone chatting to Mum, when there it goes, heading back to Bristol where it had set out from this morning. It was the English Riviera Express visiting Kinswear. A lovely steam journey. 
Back here, then out for a walk with Yogi, then a glass of apple juice ... & breathe. Picked yet more strawberries, watered the veg patch, fed Yogi, made dinner. Just did a search to identify the plants I found today, that can take a little while but worth it.
Now I want to quickly clean the strawbs and pop them in the freezer until I'm ready to make jam. :)

Thanks to 60plus for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.