Kipsie

By Kipsie

Ever had one of those days

when you wished you'd stayed in bed? Well mine started like that today .. Yogi & went down to Hearn field for our walk, then I decided to go up through the fields of barley. Well I had the ball wanger, the thingy you use to make the ball go further, it probably has a name but there is nothing written on it, I looked. I was attempting to land the ball in the channel made by the tractor, my aim quite accurate, unfortunately I lost my footing & fell down on my backside, while holding my camera with the lens open ..Ops! Ouch! Scabble back up quickly, check the camera. Phew that's a relief!  Ops! Better check the phone in my back pocket. Phew! No damage, thank goodness. A little shaken, a quick glance behind praying that no one saw me take a tumble. Nope! Onwards & upwards, deciding that the ball retrieval can wait until we reach the next field where it's a little easier to throw the ball, &  Yogi see it. "We're okay now Yogi, lots of space to throw the ball here". With that I throw the ball with the aid of the wanger & it disappears into a very well established thick Devon bank, which also has wire fencing at the base. Absolutely no hope of finding or retrieving the ball. Oh pooo! Yogi is not a happy doggie. We carry on walking the perimeter of the field then back to the car. I'd got another ball so we headed back into Hearn field for a few more goes of fetch :)
I needed to be at the house to accept a parcel today but planned to do some tidying in the garden as it was such a lovely morning, so thought I'd write a note, attaching it to the front door, informing the delivery man to give me a shout in the garden if I did'nt hear the door bell ring.  Could I find a piece of paper anywhere .. no. I had the same problem last week in Millies house. Anyway back to today, I ripped a page out of my diary, wrote the note, now where could I expect to find sellotape, the answer to that is no idea, & no I did'nt find any. Now fortunately I chew gum, not a habit I particularly like but the surgery/ radiotherapy damaged my saliva glands, so I don't make saliva, hence the gum chewing. You know what's coming don't you.... Well how else was I going to attach the note. LOL!! No one knows, well only you do.
So I'm in the garden, de-heading roses, weeding etc. when Yogi decides it play time. The ball strategically tapping the back of my shoe, he is a rascal. When i don't respond he picked up the ball and repeats the action. Every now & again I throw the ball across the garden, it was going well until I attempted an over the shoulder back throw  .... the ball disappears into a coppiced hazel bush thick with brambles ... Ball no 2 lost. It's not going well. Time to quit ball games and concentrate on the garden. I don't need any more mishaps. I pulled a sapling out of a tub planted with fuchsias only to find it was a walnut. The whole shell still attached. Goodness knows how that got there, anyway it seemed a shame to throw it away so found a container in the walled garden and potted it up.
Picked yet another punnet of strawbs, all cleaned, sliced & added to the freezer stash. Had just started making dinner when hubby rang to tell me there was a good tennis match on tv .. Cori Gaull - USA v Venus Williams - USA, so put the pasta sauce I was making on a low simmer, grabbed my cider and watched the remainder of the match. Cori won, will be interesting to see how far she goes in this her first Wimbledon tournament, she's only 15 so got years ahead of her. Next up was Kyle Edmund - GB v Jaume Munar - Spain so thought I should watch our guy. I'd never heard of him before but apparently he's the British No 1. I don't follow tennis all the time but do like to watch the matches from Wimbledon. Edmunds won. :) & apparently Heather Watson, another of our players is through to the second round.
I spotted this tin on the shelf in the utility room this morning when I was doing some laundry. Aha! A Union Jack, well if I don't get any inspiration today this will have to do. Not sure if it was for biscuits or sweets, it now holds Farrow & Ball paint tester pots.

Look at the time! I'm getting later & later. Still be wide awake at 5.30 a.m so better go I need all the beauty sleep I can get.

Thanks to Carolina for hosting Mon Monday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.