Black eyed Suzie

An early morning photo before breakfast - Blip done!
Then down to pick up Mum's shopping list & off to the Coop. Very quiet, easy shopping although some items not available. Chatting to a member of staff on the checkout, I asked if it was getting back to "normal" in the store, she said it had'nt made much difference, I said it seemed to have been busier during lockdown, she told me it was because they had'nt introduced any customer control/queueing to use the store. Unbelievable! Well, actually it's exactly how it was, I wrote a complaint, have'nt had any acknowledgment yet. Back to Mum's, coffee and chat, opened the Weedclear container that she had been struggling with, then home. Watered the tomato plants, checked how the flower seeds were drying. I'm thinking I might grow some perennials for the next plant sale, I've already split some.
It's only early summer but with a glut of courgettes already I needed to use them, so, Courgette, orange & hazelnut chutney prep underway. Hubby meant to ask me to pick up a prescription from the pharmacy at Bovey while I was shopping for Mum. I stopped the prep, drove out to Bovey Tracey, picked up the tablets, AND an orange. A queue outside the Coop in Bovey Tracey. Walking back to the car I ntoiced an interesting plant combination in front of the doctors surgery. A Phormium tenax with flower spikes in front of a Cotinus coggygria 'Palace Purple'. Wow! Home again, lunch, homemade chicken liver pate, a freezer dip. A tub of frozen chicken livers cost 50pence from Tesco's, they make good pate. A bargain!  A tasty bargain!. I finished making the chutney, the Sainsbury's recipe uses walnuts, but I still have a huge coffee jar of hazelnuts that I harvested last year so an obvious substitute I reckoned. 3 jars, & a GU glass jar, plus some syrup left over.
Did a bit of research about how to bonsai saplings. Hubbys friend left us with two very strong horse chestnuts saplings in a tub. I reckon they would make good bonsai. Another project to add to the list. I might have to start a search for Bonsai dishes.
Baked salmon & veggie traybake for dinner tonight. I put a sweet chilli glaze on his fish, then glazed mine with the courgette/orange chutney syrup. Pudding, poached rhubarb & custard. I crumbled a ginger biscuit on mine.

Thanks to trisharooni for hosting Tiny Tuesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.