Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

Crossing the Reef

Well, here it is as I promised yesterday, "a fuzzy Telephoto Blip"

I fashioned a funky wooden bracket for my tripod to allow easy line-up of my camera to a monocular, giving a "Funky cubed" image (Funky camera optics X funky monocular optics X funky alignment)/(dim rainy day) = (barely recognizable image).

But it was all in good fun. We went out there on the chance of seeing a migrating whale who might pose for his/her photo-op, and what we got was some quality time together.

What you're looking at here is a crab boat coming in after a long rough day at sea. It's passing by Simpson Reef off the Oregon Coast. I know it was a rough day at sea because 1) The waves were breaking over the reef, 2) I had to time my exposure when the boat was on the top of the wave, because when it was in the trough all but the light would disappear from view.

After a really fine time out in the weather together, Annie and I went into Charleston where High Tide Cafe truly does have award-winning chowder. They also had stellar service, good gentle live music and glazed gingerbread to write your mother about.

And the company was stellar too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.