Mum's coffee set

Dad gave Mum this Japanese coffee set for her 21st birthday. He was a ships engineer based in Hong Kong and chose it for her in Japan.

It's so fine the cups let light through when held up to the light. I don't remember the set ever being used it was kept in a china cabinet.

I don't keep or collect tea cups and saucers. Partly because I've lived through huge destructive earthquakes and partly because I tend to keep things that carry meaning for me.

I'm glad to have this set because it has a connection to both Mum and Dad. The cabinet is attached to the wall and each piece and lid is secured with the adhesive material museums use. That should hold for the small and medium sized quakes.

This coming Wednesday Mum would have celebrated her 90th birthday.

Today's gratitude: For the gentle sense of connection to my past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.