Photogenic Days

Even after more than 3000 blips, I admit that some days I struggle to find an image - though not often.

More frequently there are days when the choice is so great it is hard to come to a decision, and today was one of those days.

The main event was the 20th anniversary celebrations of the Scottish Parliament which had at its centre a ceremony in the Parliament Chamber addressed by HM the Queen.   The guests of honour were  all those young people born on the 1st of July 1999, who were also invited to the 10th anniversary party a decade ago. 

After the Queen's visit the rest of the day was given over to entertainment, talks, and displays as the Parliament opened its door to anyone who wanted to visit. .   There was much that was surreal, given the normal  day to day activities,  and all of it was fun.

My extra photos I hope give a flavour of what was happening  - Kirsteen and Alana from ColGlen , where I live, were the first musical group to perform and they were excellent.  It was also the first time they had played outside Argyll so it was also  a great place for their wider debut.  

The informal feeling is emphasised by the picture of Linda Fabiani and  Christine  Graeme, both Deputy Presiding Officers, enjoying the  ridiculous chairs which were spread about the place , sourced  from where I know not. 

These included a massive deck chair in the garden of the "Garden Lobby" and I caught that alongside two of the Parliament's guest  (almost) 20 year olds, though I resisted their offer to sit init myself. 

The earlier ceremony  featured a variety of music including an immensely emotional and moving performance of "Ae Fond Kiss"  by Karen Matheson which had Bruce Crawford and I moved  closed  to tears , which again isn't something that happens often in a Parliament.    I was lucky to get a quick selfie of Karen and Bruce (next to whom I often sit in the chamber as I did today)  at the end and that is also in the xtra photos.  

But my main picture is from the extraordinary sunset that emerged as we travelled west in the evening, having called in at Fiona Hyslop's Silver Wedding Party in Linlithgow ,  where  alas we couldn't stay for  long .

The very overcast and thundery weather in the east cleared as got towards Loch Lomond and the mist which was swirling round the Rest and Be Thankful rose the moment we were over the pass to reveal an astonishing mackerel sky tinged with orange.   

It was a great uplifting  visual end to a great visual, aural and emotional day.   

20 years of the Parliament is worth celebrating in lots of ways, but there is still lots to do.

Unfinished business......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.