Observations

Assessing DofE groups today, lots of time to make observations, both of them, my environment and myself.

The ankle felt great, very few twinges, I even had a wander up Catbells as I'd time and it was there. But. The knee that has had a series of annoying twinges ever since the Sepsis in January, whilst OK in operation, kept me awake a lot of the night. Neither me or the physio really know why. 

The head of the Borrowdale valley above Grange was however a fantastic place to while away an amazing amount of time, the first group passed through in 2hrs 30, the last group were a full five hours later... I spent the time admiring the carpet of Stone crop that covered the high valley floor, where the land was wet Bog Asphodel is now starring and on the rockier patches Red Sorrel made its awkward little fronds. Orchids, Foxgloves and Speedwell were also in abundance, nature making the most of a mild Winter and a very warm Spring.

At this age there's a marked difference betwixt the boys and the girls, but with this particular school, which seems to select on both academic and sporting prowess, it seems somewhat emphasised. There was never any worry that my 'top set' girls would get lost, I really did worry they'd topple over and not be able to right themselves with their back packs seeming as large as them.
Meanwhile my sporting boys, all on various and multiple school, county and national teams simply relied on being fit enough to circumnavigate the whole valley a few times until they found where they wanted to be. 
Add to the mix small academic boys and amazonian sporting girls, teenage hormones and a night away from home and it made me very glad when the rain came and they finally turned in for the night. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.