Bike type of day

This morning was taken up with tidying up the graves and dropping F.M.i.L. off at church for one of her great grandchildrens first communion. Yes, she's back home from her sojourn in the Netherlands with her youngest daughter.
We picked her up again and we all went to our Neice's house for a little reception for her son, the one that had the first communion.

The afternoon was spent mostly on the bike apart from watering the outside pots. I sorted out the top box mounting plate, I'd installed it too far onto the harley luggage rack, which is raised at the seat end. This made it slightly warped so the latch didn't hold the box securely enough. I moved the plate back an inch or so and all is well, it won't fall off!

Then I masked off and spray painted the top of the box itself. On reflection I think it would be better to do the whole top gold. The silver bit is the original colour and it looks ok but the bike is black and gold.

While the first couple of coats were drying I installed the 12v accessory socket onto the bike. Anything like this on the CTX I would have got the garage to do it but the Harley is so easy to work on. I had to remove the seat and lift the tank a couple of inches to feed the cable through but I didn't need to move the battery at all, just attach the cable ends to the terminals.

One little tip I got from 'Dellboys Garage', on YouTube, is to turn on the ignition (remote keyfob, the ignition is turned on by the flick of a switch if you are in range) and then remove the main fuse after taking the side panel off. Doing this prevents the alarm from going off.

Dellboys Garage is probably one of the most useful YouTube channels a biker can access. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.