Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Frozen in Rust

On the hottest day of the year so far, Mum and I were a little slow "getting going", and the traffic on the M2 heading to the Kent coast had built up to intolerable levels. With a change of plans, I detoured to one of our frequent haunts - Riverside Country Park near Rainham.  We were pleasently surprised to find it relatively quiet, but truth to tell I suspect that most people turning up decided the lack of any real shade and 30c+ degree temperatures was not desireable.

I found some shade and a seat for Mum, while I headed out onto the causeway and manage some shots of dereliction for 60plus's challenge before dashing back to Mum and some relative cool in the shade. 

This shot was taken through a hole in the hull of one of the abandoned hulks. The engine had been left in situ, but somehow I don't think this will ever run again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.