The Chapel of St Peter and St Paul

Today we took the River Bus from where we are staying at Battersea Power Station to Greenwich. We spent most of the day there. Went up to the Greenwich meridian line and saw the Time Ball fall at 1pm.

My legs were so much better today and I was able to walk around much easier. 

The Chapel of St Peter and St Paul is a Neoclassical masterpiece and was built by Thomas Ripley to the designs of Sir Christopher Wren and was the last major part of the Royal Hospital for Seamen to be constructed. Following a disastrous fire in 1779, it was redecorated by James ‘Athenian’ Stuart in the Greek revival style, and today is a wonderful example of a complete neoclassical interior.


We leave London tomorrow night for Rome so I may not be able to put up a blip for a while. Because it will be so hot there we are booked into a place with a pool near the airport. Jamie will go out and see the sights of Rome. If I can find a tour which doesn't do a lot of walking I will do that. 


I was late in putting up yesterday's blip of the The National Gallery if you would like to see it 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.