Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

Reggie has left the building

Back Blipping....why you ask??

I thought Reggie and I would work out - the pet I'd always wanted. Turns out we weren't suited at all and I got to spend a few weeks in the isolation unit at the Alfred hospital whilst a settlement was reached and a suitable home for my amoeba was found. Have to say, it was very cool - I've never been in hospital long term and it was just like being in outbreak. I wasn't allowed any visitors accept the Drs in white isolation suits. So now I present to you - Great Hospital moments:

* Screaming in ICU the name Nick and pointing at the medicine cups: They could not settle me until they handed me one. It was my dear friend Nicks birthday and he collects shot glasses - I'm a bar person and can pick a 30ml glass anywhere - Happy Birthday Nick.

* When asked by the awesome suited up Drs if I had any questions I replied, "Yes, did ET make it home?" The Dr replied, "I saw the bike but can't be sure." (Brilliant Drs and Nurses - full respect and thanks!!)

* When sharing an elevator with Nathan, a patient in the final stages of Aids (after it was determined I wasn't contageous), I stated, "not sure if you should share the lift with me - you could get this bizaare strain of Compylobacter." Nathan responded, "I'm due to die of Aids shortly and don't get along with my family that well, if I die of your desease they have to pay for more letters on the tombstone." We laughed a lot, shared the lift and then had a race to the MRI area. RIP Nathan, keep them laughing :)

* After having multiple 'infusions' of potassium (chemical symbol K), my friend and head of hematology at the hospital sent in 2 Crunchie bars with the 'C' crossed out and replaced with K, an OK magazine and another mag featuring Will & Kate, Katy Perry, and the Kardashians. The attached note read, "If this isn't enough K for you I don't know what is and by the way I checked the Kardashians website, they don't mention any cures so we may not be able to fix you". He added, there will be questions.

* Having blood taken every 2 hours. Each time they would walk in and check my mental state by asking for my name, date of birth and a fact like where are you? 4 hours after recieving the magazines they checked: "What is your name? What is your date of birth? Who is the third Kardashian? Love your work Andrew!

Todays blip is of the sunrise, on the day (about an hour before) I found myself at the Alfred Emergency room with a rare and dangerous strain of campylobacter. I did not see the sunrise again until my release but when finally allowed my phone (mid week 2), I went straight to blip to see those from around the world. Many thanks to the amazing people in that hospital, and many thanks to the blippers who helped me get through isolation in tact!

....incidentally, the third Kardashian is Khloe and I'm very happy to say - I got it wrong :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.