and through the wire...

By hesscat

Mad River Barn

I think we have found our new favourite pub/restaurant. But let me first begin with a prelude... my mother (Hi Mum) made the assumption that when this journal turns to waffle, it's because I've been on the gin, which has not been the case... until tonight... so apologies, I'll try my best to make sense.

This morning as we left North Adams we passed the Wilco drummer out for a walk with his young family, I assuming heading for MASS MoCA which was nearby. 50 yards down the road, Peter Buck, guitarist from R.E.M. and who had been playing at the festival, was packing up his van. Aye... different, but same world indeed.

Our first stop was in Williamstown which is 4 miles from North Adams and is very affluent (I am glad I can write that word and not have to say it!) and hosts Williams College, a private college formed in 1793!! The town was full of buildings related to the college, and the blip extra has a photo from there. Interestingly, the director of MASS MoCA was at Williams College and his colleague went on to be director at the New York Guggenheim museum!

We then spent the day driving up through Vermont, which was very picturesque and I have found my new favourite farm outbuilding... Barns!! I love them, the old wooden ones with holes in them and I present 3 of them for you in same said extra. As we closed in on our abode for the night, we stopped at a waterfall, that if I had to design one, would look like this. After checkin, we went for a wee drive to a local village and google maps took us to the back off beyond, but we passed through the 2nd oldest roofed bridge in Vermont so glad we got one of those in. I have learned from educated people Mrs C and Ms H who read the notice that roofed bridges were in fact from the days of horse and cart where the roof stopped horses and/or other animals being spooked by the river! Who knew?

We returned to Mad River Barn, our abode, for dinner and pub. This is a ski resort and looked an amazing place to come to and even in summer it was a great family atmosphere. After dinner we played air hockey, some sort of table top curling game and Ms H played guitar. With an early close at 10pm
Ms H was keen for us to take our drinks back to the room so she could drink her can of cider and play a drinking game with her. Please don't tell Mr Trump she is only 18. Anyway, fingers crossed we can get up for breakfast tomorrow...

We definitely need to come back here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.