Purple Coneflower....

.... at Jacobsburg State Park.

Today was a pretty typical Sunday for us .... except that we headed out to Jacobsburg and Plainfield Rail Trail before lunch instead of afterwards like we would normally do.  The weather is still pretty hot & humid so we were trying to beat the heat a little bit. 

We went to Jacobsburg State Park first to see if we could spot any hummingbirds.  We were initially disappointed to see that the hummingbird feeder Ranger Rick usually has hanging up wasn't there. So we went across the road to the frog pond area instead.  There wasn't a feeder up there either but there was lots of bee balm flowers.  

And .... there was a fairly new fawn laying in the bird blind! We thought maybe it was abandoned so we were concerned for its safety.  Richard went back across the road to the educational building while I stayed nearby the fawn.  Whilst I was waiting for Richard to return (hopefully with a ranger or someone else that could help) I called a couple different wildlife rescue places.  My call to the Pennsylvania Game Commission put my mind at ease. Turns out that fawns are often left by themselves for the first few days of their lives. But mom is nearby and the fawns are being fed. Who knew!?! 

After all that excitement we both set ourselves up in front of some bee balm in the hopes that a hummingbird would come by to feed. Without the nectar feeders up our chances of seeing one was good.  Richard spotted one first on the bee balm that he was watching and told me that the hummer was heading my way!  Yay!  Unfortunately, he didn't go where I could get a decent shot!  I have added this male hummer in my extras ..... the photo wasn't the best so I have processed through Topaz Glow2.  

After leaving Jacobsburg we went to Plainfield to check on the chipmunks and take a short walk.  By this time it was pretty warm so we didn't walk too far.  

We stopped at Central Tractor on the way home in order to pick up some bird food and other things for our wildlife.  Once we returned home we were in for the day.  

Backblipped: July 2, 2019

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.