Tourist attraction

I vowed to myself that I wouldn't photograph the wreck of the cathedral again. But tourists gathered caught my eye.

I find Cathedral Square grey and depressing. The wrecked cathedral and other wrecks like the old Post Office are awful. The new library is a bright spot.

Anyway, I happened to walk through on my way to pick up my new glasses. Close to 5pm I walked through to the bus interchange to catch my bus home.

This is the second time I've been in the central city at 5pm. It's so quiet. A few pedestrians and cars, and shops with no one in them. While most of the streets I was on aren't designed to funnel traffic through town, it's still quieter than you'd expect the centre of a city to be.

Office space in the central city is at 30% occupancy so it's not surprising. I'm happy to work on the edge of the central city and to leave the city entirely each evening.

I'll pop some extras in of the new library, a wide angle of tourists marveling at the remains of the cathedral, and an interesting exposed wall.

Today's gratitude: For the wonder of new glasses with a new prescription. I feel blessed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.