Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Today's visitors

First thing this morning I spotted a grey squirrel sitting in the viburnum near the bird feeders. It was unfazed when I waved to scare away the jackdaws.

Later I was excited to see a little flock of long tailed tits. In the 14 years I've lived here, these beautiful birds have been very rare visitors. I tried to photograph them in the trees rather than on the feeder, but they were too fast for me. You can see them here.

I sat in the hide with food placed strategically for the blackbirds, robins and greater spotted woodpecker. Who came along but one of those swaggering bovver boys in the form of a jackdaw. He was determined to fill his beak as full as he could (mimicking a puffin I thought).

You can see another one of this rather confident guy here.

Made carrot soup for lunch and had a trial run at drop scones for tomorrow's visitors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.