Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Coffee treat

There has been a bit of a misunderstanding with the gas fire installers, we thought we'd ordered a remote controlled one, the one they demonstrated to us in the shop, but a manual control one has been fitted, because '... we did not actually request a remote one...' Conversely, they did not check which one we wanted. We're blaming each other. Hopefully it can be sorted out without us having to pay for the gas man to come again...

JR and Archie set off across the Meadows - I took the bus and met them round at Cult cafe. A soya milk flat white (no sugar) is now an occasional treat for me now.

When I went to catch the bus I came across a big crowd with police swarming around. An accident? A burglary? No - royalty! Princess Anne had popped in to the local Save the Children charity shop (apparently she's the patron). We all stood around for ages, then PA swept out of the shop clutching a big bouquet of flowers, straight into the waiting limo, and wooshed off without a sideways glance or wave to her loyal subjects. Very poor PR, PA!

We all walked back home over the Meadows. It was warm(ish), but Archie took every opportunity to rest in cool grass. What would he be like in a warmer country?

We popped in to see Rufus and his mum on the way home, and I’ve been relaxing on the sofa watching tennis this afternoon, in between emails and phone calls re the remote/no remote gas fire.

Tonight I tried my recently purchased special wee do-dacky that poaches eggs to perfection in the microwave every single time!  Well, I can report that it does not!  
I’m about to write a scathing review...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.